Intermediate Club Football Championship - Round 2 2017-04-30 20:12:00

Intermediate Club Football Championship - Round 2

Castleisland Desmonds  2-12

St. Mary’s 4-10

Castleisland Desmonds visited Con Keating Park on Sunday 30th April for Round 2 of the Castleisland Co-Op Mart Intermediate championship.  

The last time these teams clashed, it made for one of the best games of the 2015 Intermediate Championship.  Both teams were missing key players, St Mary's Denis Daly and Castleisland Maurice Hickey.  The day was dry, but a strong wind prevailed throughout.  

The visitors were fast off the mark with two points within the first five minutes.  Sean Cournane had his goal chance blocked in the fifth minute, but was rewarded a few minutes later when he did reach the back of the net.  Castleisland proceeded to score 1-04 without reply, before Anthony Cournane scored St Mary's first point in the 23rd minute.  For the rest of the half, Castleisland remained dominant;  However, a free from Bryan Sheehan and an injury time goal from Darren Casey were all that St Mary's could muster.  Half time score was 2-02 to 2-08. 

Paul O'Donoghue was fast off the mark in the opening minutes of the second half with two points from play, before Bryan Sheehan hit the back of the net.  Castleisland were at a disadvantage, when centre forward Tomás Lynch saw his second yellow card.  St Mary's used this to their advantage and scored two points, courtesy of Anthony Cournane and Darragh O'Sullivan.  A superb piece of teamwork led to Dan Daly scoring a fourth goal for St Mary's.  A clear lead for St Mary's in the last quarter did not deter Castleisland, who kept trying to get back in the game.  

Points from Cian O'Connor, Tomás Hickey, Kieran Brennan and Graham O'Connor were in vain as Dan Daly and Darren Casey pointed their own.  Full time score was 4-10 to 2-12.   

St Mary's were best served by Conor O'Shea, Bryan Sheehan and Darragh O'Sullivan.

St Mary's team: Michael Daly, Killian Nolan, Brian Curran, Ian Casey, Darragh O'Sullivan (0-1), Conor O'Shea (c), Conor Quirke, Adam Quirke, Bryan Sheehan (1-1,1f), Pat Cournane, Paul O'Donoghue (0-2), Darren Casey (1-1), Sean Cournane (1-0), Dan Daly (1-3,2f), Anthony Cournane (0-2). Subs:  Liam O'Connell for Pat Cournane, Niall Brennan for Killian Nolan, Oisin Moran for Adam Quirke, Mark Quigley for Darren Casey.